Bearing witness: the destruction of the Old city of Aleppo, the second oldest city in the world, Part three continued

I am reposting my articles on the destruction of Aleppo, published in my blog last year, in support of the campaign #savealeppo
https://www.facebook.com/hashtag/savealeppo?source=feed_text&story_id=620138741412888

alisariram

All 4 parts of the documentation of the destruction of Ancient Aleppo will be updated to include more damage to heritage as it occurs.

I am going to continue with Part Three of my documentation of the damage inflicted upon the cultural heritage of Syria, specifically that of Aleppo. I was thinking to myself last night that walking through the souks of old Aleppo under those magnificent honeycombed vaults meandering and continuously unfurling, here into a khan that looked like a dreamy forgotten palace and there into a peaceful slumbering mosque, hording treasures that devotion wove meticulously,must have been like walking in a gigantic cathedral with mazes and secret passages waiting to surprise you at every bending.  Yet those souks were not a solemn cathedral but one bursting with life, colour and humanity. A people’s cathedral? A cathedral for the rich, the poor, the healthy and the sick, for loud and frisky little children and slow…

View original post 2,291 more words

About alisariram

I am an artist, a writer and a researcher. I know Arabic and English . I am interested in music and art of every description. I like to describe myself as the embodiment of a harmonious marriage between two cultures which I value and treasure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

